Publishing and Public Speaking Mission Vision and Values


I am in the process of moving my blog to another site.  For now I will continue to post here on a stripped down version of the blog, until my regular readers have the change to migrate over to the new location.  Please take a minute to follow me over to my new site currently under development at believerstrust.wix.com/sheil.
I am deep in to business planning for 2016.  As part of my ongoing planning, the first thing I do every year is review my personal mission, vision and values to make sure everything still lines up with the way I run my business.
mission
This year I decided it was high time I develop a separate mission statement for my publishing and public speaking ministry along side of my overall business mission.  Here it is – my Publishing and Public Speaking Mission, Vision and Values statement for 2016, I hope it resonates with you…

Mission –

I am a disciple of Christ – always learning, always growing and always teaching.

Embedded within that statement are four main points.
1 – Disciple of Christ
The Apostle Paul said that “If you declare with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.” [Romans 10:9] 
But discipleship is more than just belief.  The word has its origins in Latin, discipulus from which we also get the English word, pupil.  To be a disciple is to be a student under the tutelage of a master.  By calling myself a disciple of Christ, not just a believer or even a follower I acknowledge that I am still a student with much to learn.
2 – Always Learning
Indeed I am always learning.  The world is full of knowledge.  If I were to spend all my days doing nothing be reading, researching and writing on the subjects of theology, philosophy and religion I dare say I will have barely just scratched the surface of all human knowledge by the time I leave this mortal world.
“The whole of life, from the moment you are born to the moment you die, is a process of learning.”, so said Jiddu Krishnamurti, an Indian teacher and psychologist.  Truer words have never been spoken.  “I am still learning,” said Michelango on his 87th birthday.  “Once you stop learning, you start dying,” said an equally aged and accomplished Albert Einstein.
There is so much to learn!
3- Always Growing
What is learning if the process doesn’t change you in some way?  Mere knowledge for its own sake is a poor substitute for personal growth and development.  “Meaningless! Meaningless!” says the teacher.  “Utterly meaningless!  Everything is meaningless!” wrote Solomon the Wise.  [Ecclesiastes 1:2].  Knowledge for the sake of knowledge is meaningless.
tree3
So growth is the natural consequence of learning.  Jesus taught that even a mustard seed sized kernel of knowledge could grow into a large and strong tree suitable for shade and for birds to perch in.  [Matthew 13:32].  But in order for knowledge and learning to by useful it must be allowed to transform me.  Once learned, information cannot be unlearned.  Even a little knowledge can put into motion a series of events that have the power to transform the world.
Solomon was wrong!  Knowledge is not meaningless, it is so profoundly meaningful that there is never any going back once it has been revealed, I must keep moving forward, I must either grow and transform or be crushed under the weight of the relentless march of learning and knowledge that is moving the world forward.
Grow and transform or stagnate and rot.  Those are my choices.
4 – Always Teaching
By some accounts the last words Jesus ever spoke on earth were these; “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” [Matthew 28:18-20]
This is a command.  Make disciples, make pupils, make more learners.  In a word: Teach!
If learning for learning’s sake is meaningless so is growth for growth’s own sake.  The ultimate goal is not just to gain knowledge, nor is it to grow personally, it is to teach.  But not to teach for my own gain and edification, teach in order to make more Disciples of Christ.  Teach so that others may learn to transform the world.

Vision

To be a sought after author and speaker on the topics of:  Economics, Personal Finance, Business, Ministry and Christian Life.
visionDisciples teach.  My learning as a disciple has been focused on the areas of my secular expertise as they pertain to the Christian Life.  That is what I know, what I am learning and what I teach.  The church needs more sound doctrinal teaching in these areas and I am uniquely positioned, as a Financial Planner and Life-long Entrepreneur to teach on these subjects.

Values

Faith above all, Truth Seeking, Compassion and Stewardship
These are the values I take with me where ever I go.  Faith, above all for a city on hill cannot be hidden [Matthew 5:14] but also truth because seeking knowledge must always be concerned with accuracy, compassion because imparting knowledge must be done tactfully especially when it is new knowledge that is complementary or even contradictory to older knowledge and stewardship because knowledge is communal property.
So, there you have it.  Moving forward into 2016 these are my mission, vision and the values that formed them as they pertain to my publishing and public speaking ministry.  If you would like more information on my published work, my upcoming book “LeaderSheep; Leading from a posture of submission in business, ministry and life” or would like me to speak to a group of any size on the topics of personal finance, economics, ethics, business or ministry planning, write to: themeekonomicsproject@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

