Called by Love


I take notes in Church. Early in this week’s message the speaker said that we are called by love to love, so I wrote that down.

mynotebookphoto

Here’s a picture of what my notebook looked like after this week’s message.  You can’t see it but at the top of the page I wrote in my notebook: “Called by Love too Love.”

A few moments later I noticed my mistake and corrected it to read, “Called by Love to Love.”   The more I thought about it though I began to reflect on the fact that maybe my error was more of a Freudian-Slip and that both concepts could be true.

Think about it.

God is Love, this much is clear as stated in 1 John 4:8. So any calling we receive from God is a calling from or by Love as the speaker on Sunday clearly stated. And we are called to Love as a manifestation of our faith in him. The complete text of 1 John 4:7-8 reads:

Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God; and everyone who loves is born of God and knows God. The one who does not love does not know God, for God is love.

So it makes sense to say that we are called by Love (God) to manifest that Love (God) to everyone around us. But what about my misspelling of the word to, are we not also called too Love?

By adding an extra letter-o on the end of to I changed the meaning of the sentence to mean we are called by Love also Love. If God is love, what is also Love?

I’ve always struggled with the concept of trinity. I just can’t wrap my head around how God can fully embody all three “persons” of the trinity at once and if Jesus was truly God the Father and a man at the same time why did he bother praying? Maybe it’s just me but I have never been able to resolve this conflict in my mind and I don’t know that, this side of heaven, I ever will. But at the end of the day, it’s beside the point.

When I wrote that we are called by Love too Love I was honestly just being sloppy with my writing but my error carries a profound truth. Whatever you believe about the trinity, it’s all love. God is Love, Jesus is Love, the Holy Spirit is Love.

The speaker on Sunday went on to talk about Colossians 2:6-7.

So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live your lives in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.

Once called by love we become rooted in it, strengthened by it and overflowing with it. The only appropriate response at that point is thankfulness. Overflowing thankfulness to be exact.

It’s that image of overflow that sticks with me now. It’s one thing to be thankful and move on. It is something completely different to overflow with thankfulness. When you are overflowing you can’t contain it, it spills out all around, and the people close to you get covered in your thankfulness too. It’s a beautiful thing. We should all live lives with an overflowing abundance of thankfulness.

Why?

Because we are called to it by Love, and more Love also.

To overflow with thankfulness means to live generously, justly, humbly and walk with God.  Or should I say walk in Love?  The implications of a life lived like that are endless and the world could be forever changed, we should try it sometime.

For more information on The Meekonomics Project and our mission of reconciliation of the human relationship with God and Money, and to learn to live debt free, build wealth and leave a legacy write to: themeekonomicsproject@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

