Don’t Panic!


It’s my birthday!

Maybe it’s because my birthday comes smack dab in the middle of the summer, just weeks before the start of a new school year and all that but I tend to view it as a time of reflection and goal setting similar to New Year’s Resolutions. Call it New Year 2.0 if you like.

Yesterday one of my co-workers asked me what my birthday plans were and how old I was going to be. I didn’t miss a beat and told her that I would be the answer to the meaning of life the universe and everything and that my main goal in life was just to stay calm and not panic.

She didn’t get it.

don't panic

All you “Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy” fans out there don’t need any further explanation.  But for the uninitiated, I’m 42 and if there is one thing I’ve learned it’s this:

There is nothing that can happen in life that you can’t make worse if you panic.

My journey through this life is far from over. With any luck, and if genetics are anything close to an accurate predictor, I figure I have at least another 50 years ahead of me. I’m not even middle aged yet! But here are a few things I’ve learned so far that have kept me alive and help keep me from panicking as I go.

1 – Don’t take unnecessary risks.

Use any and all of the safety equipment that is available at all times; seat belts, safety goggles, and batting helmets are all optional, putting them on takes less than a second. So does losing an eye or getting a concussion from a 90 mile an hour fastball. Jumping out of a perfectly good air-craft is crazy and wearing sunscreen is a good idea.

2 – Buy insurance.

Shit happens. Cover your ass so that when it happens to you it’s easier to clean up.

3 – Have a goal and implement a plan.

Goal setting and planning is only half the story. It’s not enough to have a goal and make a plan you have to actually do it. It speaks to your level of integrity. If you can’t be accountable to yourself how can you be accountable and trust worthy with others?

4 – Always carry a towel.

Towels are among the most versatile pieces of fabric ever invented. Versatility is the key here, if you are as adaptable as a towel there is practically nothing the world can throw at you that you won’t be able to handle.

And of course –

5 – Don’t Panic.

That should be self-explanatory.

Have a great day and remember the answer to the meaning of life the universe and everything is 42.

Leave a Reply

