I Wanna Be a Duckman


I’ve made my share of mistakes and realize that a life without forgiveness is a life filled with guilt, bitterness and misery no matter how many sins you’ve committed or which ones they are. Once I became a Christian I viewed being part of the forgiven as synonymous with being a forgiver – Jase Robertson; Good Call, Reflections on Faith, Family and Fowl

jasebook

I like to watch “Duck Dynasty” on A&E.

I realize by saying that a lot of you will automatically place me in a certain category. Your mind’s eye will likely conjure up some image of a right-wing, God spouting, gun loving redneck, with a beard driving a beat up pick-up truck to buy ammo at Wal-Mart and then going off to kill something for supper. But the fact is nothing could be further from the truth. I shave every day, live in the suburbs, wear a suit to work and drive a sub-compact Ford. I’m what Phil Robertson would call a yuppie, even if I do still like to shop at Wal-Mart.

No I watch “Duck Dynasty” because it is an honest portrayal of family in a way that you just don’t get on regular TV. I like it even more because these people, as flawed as they are and as much as I tend to disagree with a lot of their theology, are open about their faith in ways that I envy. It’s just who they are, day in and day out, take it or leave it.

This summer, thanks to the leadership in my home church I have had the opportunity to learn a lot about systematic theology. I’ve learned fancy words like Zoeology, Soteriology and Pneumatology, all academic terms for the different ways we can look at the various aspects of God. And while going through all of this I also picked up a copy of Jase Robertson’s book on faith and family. It has made for an interesting juxtaposition, an academic study on the one hand, coupled with a redneck’s take on the other.

When it comes to the study of soteriology, how our salvation get’s worked out, Jase and the academics have a lot in common. You see, it all comes down to justification, sanctification and glorification.

Justification is the act of God declaring us not guilty, the trial is over we are freed from the sins of our past. We are sanctified, freed from the power of sin over us and free to submit to the will of God. And we are glorified, freed from even the presence of sin in our lives so that our will can be unified with His.

The apostle Paul put it this way;

Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy (justification), to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship. Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed (sanctification) by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will (glorification). [Romans 12:1-2]

Charles Wesley, the brother of John Wesley and a great leader and theologian in his own right, wrote one of my favorite hymns.   So completely does “And Can It Be?” sum up a life of forgiveness and justification that I can rarely get through the fourth and fifth verse without tears in my eyes.

Long my imprisoned spirit lay
Fast found in sin and nature’s night;
Thine eye diffused and quickening ray,
I woke, the dungeon flamed with light;
My chains fell off, my heart was free,
I rose, went forth, and followed Thee.
My chains fell off, my heart was free,
I rose, went forth, and followed Thee.

No condemnation now I dread;
Jesus, and all in Him, is mine!
Alive in Him, my living Head,
And clothed in righteousness Devine,
Bold I approach the eternal throne,
And claim the crown, through Christ my own.
Bold I approach the eternal throne,
And claim the crown, through Christ my own.

Justified, Sanctified and Glorified! Just like a Duckman.

How do you approach the eternal throne?

 

One thought on “I Wanna Be a Duckman

Leave a Reply

