It’s Time to F.A.C.E. Reality


money stress

So I’ve been working on a mission statement for The Meekonomics Project lately. It’s a work in progress but here’s what I’ve come up with so far.

The Meekonomics Project: We are here to reconcile humanity’s relationship with money and each other, through education and empowerment.  To teach people how to live debt free, and build wealth so that they can retire with dignity and leave a lasting legacy.

It’s a mouthful but it gets at the heart of what I’m all about both in my personal and professional life.

Recently I attended a seminar put on by an organization that is dedicated to helping people become debt free. Their mission isn’t quite as detailed as mine, they are strictly about debt freedom, but something they said in their presentation really caught my attention. The presenter used the acronym F.A.C.E. to make the point that Financial Awareness Creates Empowerment. My ears perked up at that point because, as you can see, part of what I’m all about is empowerment.

And of course, he was right. In order to become empowered you need to be aware of what’s going on.

In the “6 Steps to Financial Freedom” (email me for a FREE copy of the e-book) the very first step is to Dominate Debt. But even before that, call it the prologue if you like; you need to be aware of what your money is doing on its own.

Money disappears from our lives in small doses. It’s not the big one time expenses that put us into unmanageable debt it’s the unplanned, everyday simple overspending. It’s the trip to grocery store to pick up milk that turns into milk, ice cream, bread and the “wouldn’t that look cute on my dresser next that other worthless notion I picked up last week” that leads to “oh-well I guess I’ll just have to put this on my plastic instead of using the $5.00 bill I came in with,” kind of spending that creates debt.

Therefore; being financially aware and taking back control of your spending is essential to successfully getting out of debt.

Dave Ramsey, radio host and author of “The Total Money Makeover” likes to remind people that every dollar as a name and a job to do. Once you determine that and develop the disciple to only buy what you originally went to the store for then you can get on a plan to eliminate debt.

Financial Awareness Creates Empowerment. It’s time to F.A.C.E. reality, are you ready?

For more information on our Financial Coaching program or to sign up for a free Financial Security Assessment (a $150 value) write to themeekonomicsproject@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

