Meekonomics – Second Edition


So last spring I completed my first draft of Meekonomics and put it out through Amazon, CreateSpace and Kindle.  I sold a grand total of 5 copies.

The point of that first draft was not to make a wide release but to test the market and see if I could actually complete a book.  Mission accomplished.  Now I am working on my second book and continuing to tweak Meekonomics for a broader release.

I hope to do an official release of Meekonomics and get into promoting it sometime in the next few months.  My hope is to release the second edition before the summer but if it’s not ready I will push it back to the fall.  There is no point in trying to promote a book in July and August.

In an attempt to build interest and prepare for the release of the second edition I plan to post excepts from the book every Wednesday for the next several weeks.  I may miss a week or two, and I may not get the updates posted until Thursday some weeks but my intentions are good, and if you are meek and humble like me, you’ll cut me some slack if I’m late.

Here’s this weeks excerpt from the Introduction to “Meekonomics; A Journal of Economic Recovery”

Why I Wrote This

I realize that it is an act of sheer hubris to attempt to write a book called Meekonomics. The meek don’t write books do they? Especially Mennonite kids from Southern Ontario with no formal education in either economics or theology.

I grew up in a small town surrounded by family farms and working class individuals. When I graduated from High School I wanted to be a record producer and spent 19 years in the music business. In my mid 30s I read two books that unlocked my love of economics and theology; The Shock Doctrine, by Naomi Klein and Simply Christian by NT Wright.

There followed nearly 8 years of prayer, research and reflection on two things that have driven me for almost as long as I can remember; God and Money.

Although I have always held a strong faith my relationship with money has been an extreme roller-coaster from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows. I’m an entrepreneur. I started my first business at the ripe old age of the age of 10; I had an opportunity to become a millionaire before my 26th birthday only to fall victim to an unscrupulous fraudster and ended up bankrupt at 33.

My drive to understand money and reconcile economics with my faith started to take root in the fall of 2005 not long after I first filed my bankruptcy proposal. What I soon realized is that reconciliation of the God and Money issue is not just a personal question, although personal finance is a big part of it, it’s really required on both a micro and macro-economic scale if our society is to survive.

Call it what you will; estate or retirement planning, investments, pension plans etc. It all comes down to the storing up of treasures on earth just as Jesus warned us not to do.

Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

The eye is the lamp of the body. If your eyes are good, your whole body will be full of light. But if your eyes are bad, your whole body will be full of darkness. If then the light within you is darkness, how great is that darkness!

No one can serve two masters. Either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and Money. [Matthew 6:19-24][1]

What you will find in the pages that follow is a journal of sorts. After my bankruptcy I set out to learn all I could about how this whole God and Money things works. Anyone who has ever gone through something like that knows how devastating it can be. I was wounded, I needed healing and so I used the study of God and Money as a start of my healing process.

As I studied I took notes, those notes became a blog and that blog became this book. Most authors will tell you that they write for a specific audience, my friend Tim Day, author of “God Enters Stage Left”[2] told me he first started writing for his kids as a way to help explain his faith in case he passed away before he had a chance to teach them in person. If I’m being honest I write just for myself, it’s a way to frame my thinking so that I can move forward in life secure and grounded in what I know to be true.

I first published the blog as a way to share what I was learning with my closest friends and family around the world, I never dreamed anyone else would be interested in what I had to say but I soon had over 100 readers on-line encouraging me to go deeper and publish more. The idea for the book came out of that interaction with the on-line community.

 

[1] All scripture references from the NIV unless otherwise noted.

[2] Day, Tim “God Enters Stage Left” (2013) The Meeting House, Oakville

Leave a Reply

