Some Brief Thoughts About Fear


It’s Saturday, rather than write a big long post I just wanted to take a minute to give my readers some encouragement.  We all face fears and uncertainty every day, it’s what we do with that fear that makes us the people we become.

Here are some quotes I’ve run across over the years that have help me deal with my own fears.  I hope they do the same for you…

Be encouraged…

What would you do today if you had no fear?  – Mark Zuckerberg

For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind. [2 Timothy 1:7]

We will not be driven by fear into an age of unreason – Edward R. Murrow

Anxiety is needless and imaginary.  It’s fear about fear, fear that means nothing.  – Seth Godin; Linchpin, Are you Indispensible?

The most often repeated commandment in the Bible is “Do not fear.”  It’s in there over two hundred times.  That means a couple of things, if you think about it.  It means we are going to be afraid, and it means we shouldn’t let fear boss us around.  – Donald Miller; A Million Miles in A Thousand Years

I’ve come to believe that fear of the dark isn’t really fear of the dark.  It’s more basic than that.  What my kids are really afraid of is what most people are afraid of.  What they really fear is the unknown. – Pete Wilson; Plan B, What Do You Do When God Doesn’t Show Up The Way You Thought He Would?

So do not fear, for I am with you;
do not be dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you;
I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. [Isaiah 41:10]

Have a great weekend and remember…

F.E.A.R. = False Evidence Appearing Real – author unknown

Leave a Reply

