Without Love…


My friend Tim Day recently published his first book.  As far as I know it’s only available in a few very select locations, mostly through the book store at our Church and on-line but I hope very soon it will be out in wider distribution.

Tim book

He wrote this book as a starting point for members of our church, The Meeting House, to be more intentional about evangelism.  It’s a summation of the story of the Bible as regards who God is and how He enters humanity.  At least that’s what I got out of it I hope I didn’t miss the point.

It should come as no surprise when I say that I’m always looking for the economic principles and implications in the things I read, it’s kind of my thing.  Even though I count Tim as a friend, reading his book was no exception so I was happy to find this comment buried within the pages of what is decidedly not a book on economics.

The problem with any leader we choose to put in charge is that they have the same issue everyone else has.  Unless that person’s heart is changed, the prestige and power that come with leadership will quickly corrupt even those with the best intentions.  [Tim Day; God Enters Stage Left]

Tim makes this comment when talking about the many failings of the kings of Israel, specifically those of Saul, David and Solomon.  Each leader starts out with a lot of promise and although each has a very different leadership style they are, by all accounts fairly effective kings, at least in the beginning.  But they all fail spectacularly in one way or another.  Tim hits the nail on the head when he says that it’s because they all have the same issue as everyone else.  In my work on economics I would theorize it this way:  They all have an over developed ruler mentality that is in conflict with their caretaker mentality due to an under developed or outright absence of a love mentality.

Remember what God said to the prophet Samuel when He appointed the first king?

And the Lord told him: “Listen to all that the people are saying to you; it is not you they have rejected, but they have rejected me as their king. [1 Samuel 8:7]

By rejecting God as their king Israel as a people are doing exactly the same thing as all people have done since the story of the fall of mankind in Genesis Chapter 3.  In so doing they are disregarding the one thing that can hold their two competing realities in balance.  By rejecting God, they are rejecting the love mentality that balances their internal ruler and caretaker.

This is a theme near and dear to my heart and it forms a large portion of my writing both on this blog and in my own book; Meekonomics; Kingdom Economics From a Love Based Mentality.  God gave us the capacity to rule over creation and govern ourselves but he did so with the assumption that He would always be there to teach us to Love, for without love everything else is worthless noise.  [1 Corinthians 13:1-3]

If you’re interested in learning more about the overall narrative of scripture and how it points to the person of Jesus check out Tim’s book – “God Enters Stage Left”.  If you are interested in learning more about our God given Love Mentality and how to tap into it and influence the economy buy my book or write to themeekonomicsproject@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

