Debt is Bad For Your Health


I’ve been battling a cold for the past week or so and haven’t had much of an opportunity to write anything.

sick

I tend to do most of my writing early in the morning and when you have a sore throat and sinus headache the last thing you want to do is get up an hour earlier and engage in a mental exercise like writing and researching.  So I had to let a few things slip, this blog being one of them.

Now that I’m feeling better I realize that being sick has some interesting parallels in the way we approach our finances.  Several studies over the past few years have shown how carrying debt increases stress related illnesses.  Things like hypertension, heart disease and stroke, as well as mental disorders like bipolar, PTSD and general anxiety all have an influence on or are influenced by the way we handle money.  In my Financial Services practice I’ve seen examples of all of this and even experienced some of it firsthand.

So as my first post back from my bout with the common cold I thought it appropriate to share an article on the health risks of debt.  Enjoy, and stay healthy…

The Atlantic Cities –“Debt is Making Young People Sick” 

But not to be all doom and gloom,

Business Insider – “Here’s how Paying off Debt Improves Your Happiness”

And from Toronto Real Estate Agent/Blogger Jamie Sarner “Home Ownership Can Improve Your Health”

Leave a Reply

