The Year That Was, Part Four


In my day job I’m a Financial Security Advisor.  More to the point, I’m a salesperson.  I’ve been in sales most of my adult life.  I’ve plyed the trade for nearly 2 decades now and I think I’ve become somewhat of an expert on what it takes to stay motivated. 

Back in July I made a random comment on a sales blog regarding my skeptism over how effective quotas are at motivating sales people.  As a result I got sucked into a debate with two professional sales coaches both of whom maintain that arbitrary quotas are an effective way to motivate people (I disagree).  In an attempt to clearly articulate my position, and to end the debate I wrote this post on July 9, it was subsequently reposted by one of my debate partners and as a result it has received 67 views making it my number post of 2012. 

Four Rules for Motivating Sales People (and walking a tighrope)

 

Leave a Reply

