Chick-fil-A, KKK and Bigotry on All Sides – Enough is Enough!


Until know I’ve managed to ignore the whole Chick-Fil-A debate but this week something else happened that I couldn’t ignore and the two incidents stem from the same issue. 

It all started when I saw this story from fellow blogger Kurt Willems on his site, “The Pangea Blog”

Church Refuses to Marry Black Couple in Mississippi, Racism Alive in 2012.

I re-tweeted the link with the simple comment “Shocking” and thought that would be the end of it, until a few hours later when I received this reply on my twitter feed from @jaczaja;

@laurencsheil @KurtWillems That’s shocking? You must not live near Deepswamp, GA. I personally know KKK-“important” citizens.

When I responded that I thought that was just sad I received this further explanation.

@laurencsheil Know a newspaper publisher kept his Klan suit in his office until 2002. The fight is not over.

Add that to the endless Chick-Fil-A debacle and it’s enough to make a Jesus loving, bible study theology nerd like me apoplectic!

 At the end of the day both incidents come down to the same issue.  It’s bigotry plain and simple! 

And it’s not just the so called Christian Right that can claim a monopoly here.  I also follow a group that calls itself The Christian Left (@TheChristianLft) that I am sad to say has only tended to add fuel to the debate with its own brand of left wing bigotry.    Case in point, this photo posted on their facebook page earlier this week;

This kind of thing may seem funny to some but trust me, the people you need to convince aren’t laughing.  We all need to take a step back, collect ourselves and come to the table, with open hearts and bibles in hand willing to enter into a constructive and loving debate and stop posting caricatures and parodies of one other. 

Frankly I don’t know if Jesus hates fags or not, I’ve never had the chance to ask him.  But that’s not the point.  What I do know is that Jesus prayed for the unity of his church and there are about as many versus in the bible that support Christian’s openly slandering one another on any point of theology as there are stories about unicorns!  (I looked it up, there are no unicorns in the bible just incase you were wondering) 

Enough is enough!

A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. 35 By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”[John 13:34.35]

3 thoughts on “Chick-fil-A, KKK and Bigotry on All Sides – Enough is Enough!

  1. Lauren,
    I am not sure from your post which side of this issue you come down on. I come down on the first amendment right of freedom of speech and Mr. Cathy has every right to express his opinions on one of the major moral issues of our day. You mentioned bigotry in your post and i am against bigotry but bigotry is a two way street. We who express our Christian views are ostracized, ridiculed and even threatened yet we are often called the bigots. Jesus did call on Christians to take their stand against moral wrongs; not in a militant way but by condemning them and showing people the Christian way. We are to let our light shine for the truth. Yes, Jesus did tell us to love one another but he didn’t tell us to love their sins nor did he say to condone them. People who are interested in the biblical attitude toward homosexuality need to read the first chapter of the book of Romans, written by Paul by apostolic authority.

  2. Hi Jim, thanks for commenting

    I deliberately didn’t come down on one side or another of this issue because my opinion on the matter isn’t what’s important here. It’s not just about Chick-Fil-A, it’s much bigger than that. The catalyst for wiritng wasn’t even the Chick-Fil-A story, it was the other comment about the KKK being alive and well in the deep south. And I thought I made it clear that I think bigotry is a two way street, I even put it in the title.

    What I’m trying to point out here is the fact that so called Christians shouldn’t be airing their differences in the media. I’m glad you reference Paul, he’s also the guy who under apostolic authority wrote the book of 1 Corinthians to a church divided over issues of cultural influence.

    If the call of Christians is to take a moral stand and show people the way to Christ (which I agree with whole heartedly by the way), shouldn’t we first get together on this and not waste our time shouting past one another on some extremely important issues? How many outsiders want to join a church that can’t present a united front?

Leave a Reply

