The Burning Question


 Over the last few months The Meekonomics Project has become an extension of my day job as a Financial Security Advisor.  Most of the time I unpack some personal theological issues that come up throughout the day but rarely do I make any specific reference to my job.  This blog isn’t meant to be a promotional vehicle for my business but lately I’ve had a few requests to be a bit more specific about what I do so since you asked for it, here it is.    

Whenever I’m talking to someone and the question of where I work comes up I always tell them that I help people answer one of life’s most burning questions. 

What happens if you a) Die Too Soon, b) Live Too Long, or c) Your Plans Get Interrupted Along the Way?

How people answer that question is the cornerstone of financial planning.

Financial planning isn’t just about some far off, undefined future event called retirement and it isn’t about insurance for yourself or your loved ones to cover off the possibility that you might die or become disabled.  It’s about all of those things and none of them at the same time.

Let’s face it; the concept of retirement and the possibility of your death are both too abstract too real for most people to want think about.  Too abstract because most of us haven’t really given much thought to what kind of life we want to lead after we stop working or how our loved ones are going to get by without our income if we are unable to work and too real because for many of us retirement and premature death are so frightening that most of us just stick our heads in the sand and refuse to think about it.  

So when I ask people the burning question I almost always get the same reaction.  The words may vary but the message is the same.  People say they already have something at the bank, they have a plan at work or my personal favorite, my spouse takes care of all that.  But what they are really saying is that the question makes them uncomfortable and they don’t want to talk about it. 

I know the question makes people uncomfortable.  That’s why I ask.  It’s the reason it makes you uncomfortable that I want you to think about.

I submit that the question makes people uncomfortable not because they don’t think it’s important.  Quite the opposite;  it makes people uncomfortable  because deep down they know it’s of utmost importance and they also know that they don’t have a good answer.

Isn’t it time you had a good answer?  If I do my job right, the question won’t make you uncomfortable anymore, you’ll know the answer and you’ll feel confident about it.  

For more information on how I help people answer one of life’s most burning questions send me an email at lauren.sheil@freedom55financial.com

Leave a Reply

